Stinson Leonard Street Dodd Frank

MAKING SENSE OF DODD-FRANK

The Dodd-Frank Act has broad and deep implications that will touch every corner of financial services and multiple other industries. This site, developed and maintained by attorneys at Stinson Leonard Street, is dedicated to making sense of this complex legislation and helping businesses understand how it will affect them specifically. Our Bloggers »

Our Bloggers

Bohmann.Angela.web.2

Angela Bohmann

612.335.1510

angela.bohmann@stinsonleonard.com

All posts from Angela

Cotter.Anne.web2

Anne Cotter

612.335.1866

anne.cotter@stinsonleonard.com

All posts from Anne

David Jenson

David Jenson

612.335.1464

david.jenson@stinsonleonard.com

All posts from David

Mark.Ethan.web

Ethan Mark

612.335.7184

ethan.mark@stinsonleonard.com

All posts from Ethan

BowlingJ_web

Jack Bowling

816.691.2314

jack.bowling@stinsonleonard.com

All posts from Jack

Kopischke.Jen.web

Jenifer Frohne

612.335.1473

jen.frohne@stinsonleonard.com

All posts from Jenifer

Radloff.Jill.web.2

Jill Radloff

612.335.7119

jill.radloff@stinsonleonard.com

All posts from Jill

Weitz.Mark.web

Mark Weitz

612.335.1517

mark.weitz@stinsonleonard.com

All posts from Mark

Endrud.Nate.web

Nathan Endrud

612.335.1585

nathan.endrud@stinsonleonard.com

All posts from Nathan

Thrane.Pete.web

Pete Thrane

612.335.1779

pete.thrane@stinsonleonard.com

All posts from Pete

Fallon.Robert.web

Robert Fallon

202.346.6910

fallonr@stinsonleonard.com

All posts from Robert

The SEC announced that its Office of Compliance Inspections and Examinations, or OCIE, is launching an examination initiative directed at newly regulated municipal advisors.  It also sent this letter to registered municipal advisors advising them of the program.

SEC rules that took effect on July 1, 2014 generally require municipal advisors to register with the SEC through the SEC’s EDGAR system under the final registration process during a four-month phase-in period by October 31, 2014.  The examinations are designed to establish a presence with the newly regulated municipal advisors.  Over the next two years, OCIE plans to examine a significant percentage of these advisors using an approach that focuses on identified risks.  Areas targeted for scrutiny may include the municipal advisor’s compliance with its fiduciary duty to its municipal entity clients, books and recordkeeping obligations, disclosure, fair dealing, supervision, and employee qualifications and training.

The SEC is working with the Municipal Securities Rulemaking Board, or MSRB, and the Financial Industry Regulatory Authority, or FINRA, to facilitate a coordinated approach to oversight of municipal advisors.  OCIE will examine municipal advisors for compliance with applicable SEC rules and applicable final MSRB rules once the MSRB rules are approved by the SEC and become effective.

ABOUT STINSON LEONARD STREET

Stinson Leonard Street LLP provides sophisticated transactional and litigation legal services to clients ranging from individuals and privately held enterprises to national and international public companies. As one of the 75 largest firms in the U.S., Stinson Leonard Street has more than 520 attorneys and offices in 14 cities, including Minneapolis, Mankato and St. Cloud, Minn.; Kansas City, St. Louis and Jefferson City, Mo.; Phoenix, Ariz.; Denver, Colo.; Washington, D.C.; Decatur, Ill.; Wichita and Overland Park, Kan.; Omaha, Neb.; and Bismarck, N.D.

The views expressed herein are the views of the blogger and not those of Stinson Leonard Street or any client.

All posts from SEC

Quinlivan.Stephen.web

Steve Quinlivan

612.335.7076

stephen.quinlivan@stinsonleonard.com

All posts from Steve

Jensen.Tom.web

Tom Jensen

612.335.1809

tom.jensen@stinsonleonard.com

All posts from Tom

ChenW_web

Wei-erh Chen

816.691.2429

wei-erh.chen@stinsonleonard.com

All posts from Wei-erh